

September 22, 2023

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Speaker U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Tom Emmer Majority Whip U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Steve Scalise Majority Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker McCarthy, Majority Leader Scalise and Majority Whip Emmer,

We are rapidly approaching a child care crisis that will be devastating for working families across the country. In less than 10 days, key child care funding will expire—and estimates from The Century Foundation suggest that more than 70,000 child care programs will likely close and approximately 3.2 million children could lose their child care spots.

This worsening crisis will have a ripple effect across the entire economy, with a recent report from The Century Foundation showing that the upcoming funding cliff will cost states \$10.6 billion in economic activity per year and cost families \$9 billion each year in lost earnings.

The Democratic Women's Caucus urges you to immediately act to provide additional resources for child care, including by bringing up the *Child Care Stabilization Act* for a vote and advancing an appropriations bill that increases funding for the Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG). Additionally, we urge you to work with us towards comprehensive long-term solutions, like the *Child Care for Working Families Act*, to bolster the care economy to prevent the need for future emergency spending.

Addressing this crisis should not be a partisan issue. Working parents are watching closely, and they do not want to see this looming child care crisis ignored. We urge you to take immediate action to prevent this catastrophe.

Sincerely,

Lois Frankel

Lois Frankel Chair Democratic Women's Caucus

Teresa Leger Fernández Vice Chair Democratic Women's Caucus

Nikema Williams Vice Chair Democratic Women's Caucus

5.

Ayanna Pressley Policy Co-Chair Democratic Women's Caucus

Kathy Manning Policy Co-Chair Democratic Women's Caucus

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Jiv Tokuda Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Jasmin Congress Member 0

e

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

wsky O V Congress Me

Clarke

Vette D. Clarke Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Bellini Water Loloma

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Monsy Hackha

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Lucy MCBatt

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

hatsui

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Kathy (astor ,

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Becca Balint Member of Congress

Napolitano

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Flail

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Mcclue

Jernifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Manette Dias Barras

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

kana Hayes

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Felosi anc

Nancy Pelosi Member of Congress

fler 67

Delia C. Ramirez Member of Congress

Deblie Wasser

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell C Member of Congress

Tinde J.

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

KM

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Chu

Judy Chu () Member of Congress

Yadira Carayeo M.D. Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Chell R

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Underwood

Lauren Underwood Member of Congress

the

Hillary 9. Scholten Member of Congress

Queo

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

. This Sylvia R. Garcia

Member of Congress

Jennifer Wexton Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Cc:

The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries, Minority Leader, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Katherine Clark, Minority Whip, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Pete Aguilar, Chair, House Democratic Caucus, U.S. House of Representatives